Bath Eights


2017 winning Men's squad - Spencer LC

Spencer LC

2017 winning Women's squad - Stockport LC




8th September 2018 - 10.30hrs

The 33nd Bath Eights Tournament

The 2nd Bath Eights Womens Tournament




Odd Down Sports Fields

Chelwood Drive

Off Bloomfield Road



Time: 10.30hrs

Registration 09.30hrs



See Policy Statement below

All competitors must be age 16 or over and must be registered with their national governing body.


Entry Fee:




Contact Kaoru Jacques: 01249 783533, 07973 105379

5 Fosse Farm Barns, Nettleton, Chippenham, Wilts, SN14 7NJ

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it



Entries with the following data:

Lacrosse Club:

Contact Name and Address:

Contact Telephone:

Contact email:

Enclosed Cheque for £120 made payable to Bath Lacrosse Club

Please note: Bookings are on a strictly “First paid first served basis



  Registered teams so far for 2018


Bath LC

Bath University (Bathletes) LC

Cheadle (Coffin Dodgers) LC

Cheltenham Cougars LC

East Grinstead LC

Guildford Gators LC

Hampstead LC

Hitchin LC

Heaton Mersey LC

Loughborough University LC

Milton Keynes LC

Newcastle University LC

Nottingham Trent University LC

Reading LC

Trowbridge LC

Wilmslow LC


That’s 16 confirmed


17 spaces left


Bath LC

Cheltenham Cougars LC

East Grinstead LC

Guildford Gators LC



Thats 4 confirmed

8 spaces left max


The club runs a reserve list in case of drop outs

There are often last minute places available due to drop outs

If you wish to be on the reserve list and notified of availability register your interest with

  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it



Bath Gatherdave peter cooking 250

Someone at Bath Lacrosse Club once had an idea: “Let’s have a pre-season tournament in September”. It would be unlikely to attract many teams, being so far from the lacrosse heartlands of Manchester and London, but it was perhaps worth a try. That was some time ago….

The tournament, now a permanent fixture on the Lacrosse calendar is the main source of finance for Bath’s junior development programme, and the organisers would like to thank all that help on the day, Bar staff, burger flippers, rubbish collectors, raffle ticket sellers and general “putter uppers”

The Bath 8-a-Side Lacrosse Tournament took place on the first Saturday in September on the Recreation Ground in from 1986 till 2016, in the heart of the city, however circumstances dictate that the tournament will move to Odd Down Sports fields in 2017. The club played at Odd Down for the first 3 years of its existence from 1983 - 1985, however the new refurbished ground, with floodlit 3g is a far cry from the original council pitches. 

2017 also sees the expansion of the tournament to include a 12 team womens competition, Odd Down gives the option of expanding both the Men's and Women's tournaments if required in the future.

Each year Bath opens entries in late February/early March (details are emailed to ALL clubs) and is usually fully booked a long time in advance. The club does, however, operate a "waiting list" which gives those clubs, who failed to get their entry in on time (there's always somebody!), the possibility of getting in at a later stage. Entries are always taken on a "first paid, first served, no exceptions" basis.

The whole event relies on the good will of volunteers, in the main associated with the club, Bath LC would like to give a big thanks to those that help year in year out...however we always need more volunteers, please contact the club and come and help, there are lots of jobs - parking cars, pulling pints, setting up, taking down to name but a few. 

2017 Bar staff










Winners of the Men's tournament from the beginning:


1986 Low Profilers (Sheffield)

1987 Stockport LC

1988 Low Profilers (Sheffield)

1989 Heaton Mersey LC

1990 Low Profilers (Sheffield)

1991 Low Profilers (Sheffield)

1992 Cheadle LC


1994 Kenton LC

1995 Timperley LC

1996 Heaton Mersey LC

1997 Heaton Mersey LC

1998 Timperley LC

1999 Timperley LC

2000 Wilmslow LC

2001 Wilmslow LC

2002 Timperley LC

2003 Wilmslow LC

2004 Mellor LC

2005 Mellor LC

2006 Sheffield Steelers

2007 Styal (Wilmslow 2nds)

2008 Brooklands

2009 Wilmslow LC

2010 Stockport LC

2011 Stuttgart LC

2012 Cheadle LC

2013 Brooklands LC

2014 Cheadle LC

2015 Wilmslow LC

2016 Cheadle LC

2017 Spencer LC

2018 ?????

* The records for the 1993 winners were lost, and the trophy stolen (believed to be in the river Avon). Unfortunately unless a winner from that year, with a medal can be found, this gap may persist.

The new David Carey Trophy was subsequently purchased by members of the Club. David had been the Club Captain when Bath won the South of England Championship in 1993. Tragically he died in 1995.

Winners of the Womens tournament from the beginning:

2017 Stockport LC

2018 ?????




Odd Down



In 1992, Bath LC took the view that the Bath 8's Tournament should be an event primarily for club teams, rather than it being an "open" tournament. To that end, a formal eligibility policy was adopted 



This lacrosse event is organised and run for the primary purpose of enabling lacrosse players throughout the country to participate in friendly and open competition. It is intended that the better teams should each have a realistic opportunity, without undue bias, of winning whatever awards there may be.

In general, though not exclusively, it is intended that teams entering this event should represent clubs within the ELA. In practice, however, it is not possible to create eligibility criteria for teams that would be both workable in practice and also within the spirit of the event. As far as is reasonably possible, organisers will accept entries from teams from as wide a range as possible, where this does not conflict with the spirit of the event. Organizers, however, will not accept entries from teams which they consider to be unduly or unfairly biased in their composition.

Examples of teams which may be considered ineligible because of their composition (though this list may not be exhaustive) may be -

1) Club teams, heavily or unfairly loaded with invited players.

  1. Non-Club “Superteams” whose composition gives them an unfair advantage over the better club teams.
  2. Teams representing private or commercial companies

Examples of teams which may be considered eligible by virtue of falling within the spirit of the event (though this list may not be exhaustive) may be -

1) Bona Fide club teams from within English Lacrosse.

2) Non-Club “fun” teams whose composition does not give them an unfair advantage.

3) Foreign teams who are no better than the better club teams.

4) Composition teams from smaller clubs who would not be able to field a full team on their own.

5) Club teams with a small number of invited players, where those players do not belong to club teams in the event, and where this does not lead to an unfair advantage.

6) Teams who need to “borrow” players (usually goalkeepers) from other teams in order to fulfill their complement.

7) Teams who need to “borrow” players because their number has been depleted through injury in the event, and where this does not lead to an unfair advantage.

8) University Alumni teams - providing all players are proven to be ex students.

Entries from teams into this event will be considered in the light of this statement, but any final decision will rest with the event organisers.



Bath Lacrosse Club Executive Committee: 5/3/92

Amended : 17/12/12